​9 Things To Accept Before You Can Love Unconditionally

Let me state right away that I am not a doctor or therapist; I am simply a woman (mother, wife, sister, daughter) that has amassed years of experience in the area of love. I've been deep in the trenches and if I were keeping score, well, let's just say I've won some and lost some.

But through these battles, these wars of the heart and mind, I have learned, and continue to learn, how to love unconditionally. I have built up strength by breaking down walls (defense mechanisms and otherwise). I have learned how to negotiate peace treaties, with myself and others, all in the name of unconditional love.

Here are nine ways I've learned to love unconditionally:

1. I remember that I am my priority.

In the world of health and wellness, we hear a lot about "self-love." You know how it goes: they say you have to love yourself first before you can love anyone else.

Well, it's true. We all have exactly what we need. It's not someone else's job to make us feel love or to be able to love. It is up to us to love and accept ourselves as we are. When that's our baseline, we give up score-keeping, and can let love shine on the world.

2. I totally gave up the idea of being perfect.

After years of beating myself up, not feeling I was good enough, special enough, skinny enough or smart enough, I have learned to give up on being perfect. This is the opposite of failure.

Hanging onto thinking "I suck at everything," and instead thinking "I can't be perfect at everything" has allowed me the freedom to be more present, to experience each moment, with myself and others, to it's fullest and without conditions.

3. I recognize that I am what I practice.

When we judge others harshly, we are judging ourselves. When we dish out disapproval, we are practicing disapproval. When we disrespect ourselves, we are disrespecting others. The more we do it the more it becomes painfully automatic.