7 Common Excuses For Not Practicing Yoga

As a yoga teacher I hear many excuses from others who think they cannot do yoga. I used to have a few myself. But it wasn't until I finally made it to the mat that I stopped saying I couldn't do yoga entirely. As a matter of fact I stopped saying I couldn't do a lot of other things in my life. Yoga is like that.

A regular practice can remove the fears and doubts we hold about ourselves, and it can free us up to do things we never thought possible before.

Here are seven of the most common excuses for not practicing yoga and why you might want to overcome them:

1. I am not flexible enough to do yoga.

This was my primary excuse before I ever tried yoga. I would check out those bendy yogis on the covers of magazines in the grocery store checkout line and think to myself, I could never do that. But I eventually realized that no matter how inflexible I thought I was, a consistent yoga practice creates flexibility, usually beyond anything you could have ever imagined.

It warms my heart each time a student walks in with a big smile on their face and wants to share how they touched their toes for the first time in decades in Forward Fold, or how they were able to reach both ankles with their hands in Bow Pose. With dedication and a little patience, you WILL become more flexible when you practice yoga.

2. Yoga will conflict with my religious beliefs.

Yoga is a study of the self helping practitioners to understand their inner world through movement, breath and meditation. People of all cultures and religious backgrounds can practice yoga. Although yoga is not a religion, it is true that it's generally seen as a spiritual practice. But it's up to you to define what that spiritual component means to you whether it's a study of your true Self or finding a connection with the Divine.