6 Things I Learned About Mental Toughness From Competitive Figure Skating

6 Things I Learned About Mental Toughness From Competitive Figure Skating Hero Image

In a past life, I was a professional figure skater. One of the most important members of my "team," which included coaches, choreographers, off-ice trainers, Pilates and ballet instructors, and a physical therapist, was my sports psychologist.

I first began working with a sports psychologist when I was 13. I moved up the competitive ranks and landed triple jumps, but struggled with nerves and performance anxiety.

While I could do perfect routines in practice, I doubted myself and faltered under the intense pressure of competition. With my sports psychologist, I developed the mental skills that, over time, I could apply consistently both in practice and competition.

As a competitor, I never had the hardest technical content or the most impressive tricks, but I differentiated myself from other skaters with my mental strength.

Six years ago, I ended my skating career and headed off to college (I've since entered the real world). Often, without even realizing it, I have continued to use my sports psychology tricks every day, completely outside the domain of sports and competition.

ADVERTISEMENT

While I'm not convinced that sports are a perfect metaphor for real life, I do know that the simple mental techniques my sports psychologist taught me made me a stronger competitor, and that anyone can apply these techniques to realize better outcomes in school, work, relationships, and daily life.

1. Only worry about the things that you can control.

In skating, this meant focusing solely on myself. I didn't let myself worry about what my competitors were doing. They trained their way, and I trained mine. They had their own signature style, and I had mine.