10 Small Changes For Health, Balance & Peace

Diets are hard. They're restrictive, they're harsh — they're no fun. Is that any way to live? I don't think so. Here are ten small changes that you can incorporate into your everyday life that will bring you long lasting health, balance, and peace.

1. Increase your water intake.

This step alone will likely clear up many of your health issues. Tired at work? A cold glass of water can quickly revitalize you. Headache? Try drinking water before popping an aspirin — you may just be dehydrated. Think about how refreshed you feel after drinking down a tall glass of water.

2. Invest in a blender.

My health completely turned around after I bought my blender. I lost more than 30 pounds and took my running to a whole new level. I love experimenting with fruits, vegetables, and superfood add-ins I've never tried before. I also use my blender to make my own soups and hummus. I highly recommend a good-quality blender for any healthy kitchen.

3. Team up.

Healthy living is so much more fun when you have someone to do it with! Grab your friends and sign up for a 5k together. Find a co-worker to share healthy snacks with. Swap recipes with your friends or join a Facebook group for support. Whatever you decide, it's always better to have company on your journey to a healthier lifestyle.

4. Cook at home.

Last week I was craving soup, so I stopped on the way home at one of my favorite eateries. It didn't taste quite right to me, and I found myself thinking that it would have taken no time at all to make the same soup at home, and at least then I wouldn't be wondering what was in it.

When you eat out, you run the risk of not knowing how your food is prepared. Plus, it's way more expensive! Get in the habit of cooking at home. Use quality ingredients, try out different fresh foods, and watch your waistline shrink and your wallet grow.

5. Revive your social life.