10 Tips To Juice Like A Pro (From Someone Who's Been Doing It For 30 Years)

10 Tips To Juice Like A Pro (From Someone Who's Been Doing It For 30 Years) Hero Image

My name is Jimmy Rosenberg, and I'm the founder and Chief Juice Officer of Evolution Fresh. I started my first juice company in California in 1984, selling fresh juice to beachgoers on Venice Beach. A decade later, I worked as an organic bibb lettuce farmer, learning the nuances of farming and harvesting to ensure maximum freshness, flavor and ripeness. It's been over thirty years since then, and I've poured that knowledge and care into Evolution Fresh. We seek to give more people access to cold-pressed juice (using HPP) and its benefits. Here are some of the things I’ve learned on my 30-year juicing journey:

1. Use in-season, local produce as much as possible. In markets featuring local produce, the fruits and vegetables are likely to have been harvested within the last 24 hours at the peak of ripeness. I like to use organic as much as possible. This helps provide you with all the benefits (flavor, texture, nutrition, etc.) freshness can offer. As we ease through September, I am most excited about local California Apples for my juice and smoothies.

2. Don’t be afraid of a little pulp. I like my vegetable juices with a bit of extra pulp. It feels more well-rounded and wholesome.

3. If you want more sweetness, add more fruit. I like my juice and smoothies on the less sweet side (generally with less fruit - no more than an apple sized portion), but using seasonal local organic fruit like an apple, pear, stone-fruit or berries can help provide wholesome and natural sweetness.