5 Fun & Easy Tips To Feng Shui Your Life

5 Fun & Easy Tips To Feng Shui Your Life Hero Image

Our environment acts as a backdrop to our lives, and is something we respond to on a daily basis. That's why, 20 years ago, I started studying the ancient Chinese practice of placement and arrangement of space, to achieve harmony and balance.

Have you ever noticed that whenever you get into a rut, no matter what you do, everything around you just becomes cluttered and stuck? Why does this happen? It happens because we are doing too much, feeling overwhelmed or scattered and our spaces are not clear. Not being clear in your head and heart manifests itself in your environment. Your environment shows you what you have been focusing on and what you are creating. Is it balance or is it chaos?

The next time you feel like your life is bursting at the seams, it might be time to stop, take a breath and tidy up a bit. This not only helps to clear the clutter in your space, but also the clutter in your mind. This sort of clear mind is called a Feng Shui mind — it's balanced and allows for inspiration to shine through.

Try these five simple techniques to clear your space, get the energy moving and feel inspiration flowing.

1. Clean your car.

ADVERTISEMENT

If you notice items thrown on the seats — wrappers, water bottles, mail, clothes, shoes that got left behind or gym bags with wet clothes — it’s time to empty out your car. If you spend a lot of time in your car, and your car is in chaos, every time you get in it, that chaos is affecting you too.

It’s worth the time to get your car clean.

2. Clean your wallet (or your purse).

You know your mind is cluttered when you can no longer close your wallet or find anything in your purse. Receipts, gum wrappers, coupons, reward cards, business cards and endless loose change are everywhere — it’s amazing how fast it all adds up.