10 Tips For Being A New Mom, With A Bit More Ease & Sanity!

10 Tips For Being A New Mom, With A Bit More Ease & Sanity! Hero Image

Baby bliss-land. Ahh…I remember those days.

I also remember how challenging those early days were with my first baby after my husband had gone back to work. Sometimes he’d arrive at home, and no sooner had he taken off his jacket, I’d hand our tiny son over to him so I could eat something and grab a shower.

“Why haven’t you eaten all day?” he’d ask.

It was hard to explain how the day just slipped by, nursing a baby who wanted to be on my breast all day ...

I’ve got four kids. And I’m a midwife. Being a new mom comes super-naturally for me.

ADVERTISEMENT

But natural doesn’t mean easy. As a new mom, my days (and nights) were sometimes challenging. And they are for most moms.

Being a new mom requires us to make huge adjustments in our sense of self and what we can get done in a day, in our lifestyles and even in our self-care routines. Newborns don’t hold their heads up, so we need two arms just to hold them. That doesn’t leave many free hands for basic things like feeding yourself or taking a shower.

Some newborns cry often. In fact, the average new baby cries for up to four hours a day. And they don’t always sleep when you need to! Add to that possibly recovering from a cesarean (after all, 1 in 3 women will give birth that way) and possibly older kids to care for and wow!
O-V-E-R-W-H-E-L-M-I-N-G! At least at times.

And for some women (quite a few, actually) being a new mom is actually more than just transiently challenging. It’s desperately hard there’s isolation, overwhelm, loneliness and sometimes even serious depression.

My passion as a medical doctor (yup, I’m a midwife and an MD) is taking care of women. And as a midwife, I have a special place in my heart for new moms. I’ve been there, too!

Here are 10 of my top tips for getting through those first three months after baby is born, with health, sanity, and joy: