4 Signs You're Afraid To Follow Your Heart

It was a hot day in the middle of July. Even with the AC on full power, I could still feel the sweat gathering on my brow. But even in the sweltering heat, I couldn’t have been happier: it was payday.

At the time, I was an engineering intern at the number three company on the Fortune 500 list, and they paid their employees like you would imagine the number three company does.

I had just left the bank from depositing the biggest single paycheck I had ever received, and I floated all the way back to my car. I was on cloud nine.

But as I walked back to my car, and started my commute home, an uneasiness started to work its way through my body.

I started asking myself questions. Questions that I had thought of before, but always quickly dismissed. But for whatever reason, on that day, I couldn’t shake the nagging thoughts. I could hear the voices in my head loud and clear ...

Is this what I’m really supposed to do with my life?

That one question started a domino effect of thoughts, doubts and questions. I soon realized that I wasn’t following my heart. I was following the money.

I knew I needed to change the direction of my life. But at the time, I couldn’t muster up the courage to actually do it.

It took me almost an entire year to finally walk away from that internship (and the pending job offer). I completely changed the direction of my life, but I knew it was OK because I was finally following my heart.

The change would have happened sooner, but I was afraid.

Here are common excuses people who are dreamers make to themselves when they're afraid to follow their hearts. These are just simple fears and any dreamer is capable of pushing past them! But first you have to understand why they're not true:

1. You think chasing dreams is just a fantasy, or something that only other people do.