My lifestyle allows me to live between two worlds. I work in tech, and I'm a yoga junkie. When I'm in yoga class and I mention that I work in online venture capital, I often note people’s slight (and uninformed) judgment, and sometimes even genuine concern.

When I’m at work, and I talk about my passion for my yoga practice, some of my tech colleagues roll their eyes, think I go to fairyland, dream of playing with ponies and drink smoothies every day. But the truth is that the core lessons from my yoga practice strengthen my professional work and, lessons from work strengthen my yoga practice.

Working for a tech startup can be stressful. Things shift quickly in the tech space. You need stamina, determination and a healthy dose of courage. Yoga has allowed me to be more effective and focused professionally. The practice is far from an escape for me and more a source of inspiration that I carry into all aspects of my life. Here are the top seven lessons I’ve learned from the mat:

1. Just show up, no matter how you're feeling on the way there.

I’ve learned to show up to practice, no matter how I feel. There’s always an excuse to delay, procrastinate and postpone. But once I’m in a yoga class, I find myself having healthy internal dialogue such as, “Hold that pose even if it hurts a bit. Just hold it one more time. And breathe. Everything will be okay. Trust that.”

ADVERTISEMENT

2. Your only competition should be yourself.

Yoga has taught me that I don’t need to compete with anyone else in the room (or outside of it). There may be people who are more or less advanced than me, are stronger or weaker than me. Heck, yes, maybe hotter than me. But when I’m on my mat, I’m my one and only contender, and my own best friend. I cry on my mat.