5 Things Horses Taught Me About Life

Despite being a food blogger, I'm still learning about nutrition, just like the rest of us. Though some days I consider myself a preacher of health as I explain to everyone around me what GMOs are, in reality, I’m just like everyone else. I struggle, I fail, but I also have tons of aha moments and successes along the way.

At one point in my career, I managed forty horses for a top level training facility. I worked with veterinarians, clinicians, nutritionists and various other professionals who helped oversee our horses' care and well-being. Surprisingly, my observations from working with the horses there led me to many realizations about how I eat and treat my own body.

Here’s five things I learned about my own diet from managing horses:

1. There’s something to learn from those who are demanding.

I’m referring to a type of person that we all encounter. Whether that person owns a horse or follows all the latest diet and fashion trends, they tend to be completely obnoxious. For me, this person took the form of a horse owner armed with powders, oils, and a long list of directions and observations.

As frustrating as this might seem, deep down I knew this meant that they cared a whole lot about their horse, and knew things that we could never dream of knowing. We can take a page from their book and walk away with that deep level of commitment to our own diets even if we seem a little crazy to other people.

2. It's worth it to take the time to prepare healthy food.

Horses typically get a commercial feed in addition to their hay, which is the horse "needs" in one convenient bag. This method of feeding, however, has similarities to McDonald’s. It’s convenient and provides the horses with a quick meal, but what lies beneath the surface? There are tons of additives, preservatives and by-products wrapped up in that convenient package.