5 Simple Tips To Help Stay Balanced (No Matter How Busy Life Gets)

I wear a lot of different hats. I'm Summer, but I'm also a mama, a wife, a businesswoman, a marketing junkie, a fitness lover, a chef ... I'm a daughter, I'm a runner, I'm a reader, I'm a student and a spirit junkie. I'm the cook at home, I'm the cleaner, and I’m the gardener. I do a lot.

Recently I've received some feedback on my writing and life from people who are under the impression that I'm just a stay-at-home mom who has a nanny and can do what she pleases. Sometimes I wish this were true, but most days I'm thrilled by my many different jobs, tasks and interest.

The truth is that there are a lot of days when I only get 20 minutes to myself, if that. I multitask like a crazy person, and I'm tapped out by 8:30 pm. Now, I know I'm not the only mama/business woman who feels this way.

It's important to stay balanced when you're a stay-at-home mom who happens to run her own company, but it’s equally important if you don’t run a company. It's necessary to find time for what makes you sparkle, for what makes you glow, for what sets you heart and soul on fire.

Here are some tips for staying balanced with a busy life.

1. Work out.

Yes, you can make time for this. Lots of women email me and say, "I just don't have time, I'm a mom and I work full time, there's no time for me."

YES THERE IS! If you can make time to read this article, then you have time to do 10 jumping jacks, 10 pushups and 20 situps. I'm not trying to be a hard-ass here; I'm trying to help. So here's what I suggest.

• Set your alarm 10 minutes earlier and do a 10-minute workout. Yes, it counts!
  • Buy a jogger and run with the kids; they'll love it. I got my jogger used for less than $100, and it's amazing. I use it almost every day.