Recently I read a post about what to stop doing in a Bikram yoga. The piece stirred some strong emotions in me, and I thought it might be helpful to offer readers some guidance on what to do instead. These tips apply to Bikram, but they're applicable to all styles of yoga.

As someone with years of experience on the mat as a teacher and student, I know that sometimes it can be tricky to know what to do when the class becomes uncomfortable. Here are some pointers to help you enjoy your yoga experience, no matter your starting point.

1. Listen to your body.

Your body knows exactly what it needs and it will do what it has to in order to get that. If you're going to a yoga class where the teacher asks you to not listen to your body, I suggest you leave that class and never go back. If you feel like you need to take a break, please take one! I cannot stress that enough. If you keep fighting through the urge to rest, your body will make you rest by fainting or making you sick. I'm not sure about you, but I'd rather sit for five minutes instead of being on bed rest for a week because I pushed myself too far.

2. Make your health your first priority.

ADVERTISEMENT

Whether you're coming to yoga class to relax, de-stress, or deal with health issues, your health should be your first priority. There's no need to push yourself too far or try something that makes you uncomfortable. This can result in torn or pulled muscles, joint damage, and sprained wrists or ankles. Yoga is a place for healing.

3. Keep your eyes on your own mat.