4 Things That Are Wrong With Yoga Today

4 Things That Are Wrong With Yoga Today Hero Image

Don’t get me wrong, I love yoga. I’ve been practicing yoga for nearly 20 years and teaching for 16. I have seen yoga heal my students' (and my own) physical injuries, emotional wounds, and spiritual crises.

Some things will never change. There will always be bad smells. Certain students (and teachers) will not know how to dress to cover themselves and keep things tucked away during inversions. Music or no music; musical tastes and volume of music will always be debated.

Recently though, I have had to force myself to take a group class. These are a few things dampening my enthusiasm for my much loved practice of yoga.

1. Few teachers offer instruction while they are leading a class.

These classes are often filled with endless creative sequences of standing poses and vinyasas. Regular students appear to have memorized the class choreography, leaving newer students to follow along as best they can. The teacher has often left no additional time in the class sequence to offer modifications or to point out specific instruction. Students end up learning by watching other students rather than being taught by the teacher.

ADVERTISEMENT

2. It has become a workout rather than a "work-in."

I respect a strong class, but still appreciate the inward journey that initially drew me to yoga. When the focus of a class is endless forearm plank, multiple “chaturanga” push-ups, and intense ab work, all done to very loud music, it just doesn’t feel like yoga anymore. The focus of moving inward, away from egos, seems lost when yoga becomes a flowing body building class.

3. Branded styles of yoga and certain teacher trainings limit growth, rather than foster it.