I have been practicing different styles of yoga on and off for a long time; however, I started practicing hot yoga three years ago, and I'm so incredibly grateful that I did. I became addicted to the heat and disciplined conditions.

I am currently in the process of becoming a yoga instructor. I'm learning that yoga is a scientific miracle that not only requires the student showing up for class, but the student also doing the following things, all of which I wish I'd known about before I walked into my first hot yoga class:

1. Hydrate with electrolytes!

The wonderful thing about hot yoga is that, through strict conditions, it highlights what you're lacking in your diet. I have often heard people say, "I can't do hot yoga, I feel faint during the class." However, unless you've been diagnosed with a serious condition, hot yoga shouldn't make you feel faint. People who feel faint usually need to stay hydrated with mineral-laden water.

2. Your teacher is human, too.

ADVERTISEMENT

Just as we students need time to fully grasp the depth of a pose, so do teachers. They learn just like we do, and they have a limited time to say every aspect of exploration regarding the pose they're describing. I suggest taking a variety of classes by different teachers to broaden your understanding of the pose and the practice.

3. You're not on a yoga poster; you're in a yoga class.

It is referred to as a practice for a reason: it takes time. If you go in expecting to be perfect, then you're entering the room for a reason that will never be achieved. During each class I'm reminded that I can't do the poses without imperfections; however, I can use my imperfections to strengthen as I highlight them and focus on what I can do to help my body heal and grow.

4. Hot yoga isn't just for 90 minutes, it's for the whole day.