3 Basic Rules For Happy, Healthy & Hot Holidays

Two years ago, around New Year’s Day, I got the flu. A bad one. It laid me out for a week, and although I cut myself some slack for getting sick even though I’m a health coach, I did have a pretty clear idea about why I got sick, and I vowed it wouldn’t happen again.

See, that year I didn’t take care of myself because I was too busy taking care of everyone else. My sugar cravings got free reign because I was over-tired and stressed out, and I had more than my usual 1 glass of wine at every party we attended.

The stress, sugar, and lack of sleep got to me, and my body’s immune system tanked. I also put on a few extra pounds, and didn’t feel my happy, healthy self when the first day of the year rolled around. The holidays are supposed to be the season of lights – but most of us don’t feel lighter at the end of the sugar- and alcohol-laden frenzy between Halloween and New Year’s Eve.

So this year, I’m going back to my old foundational ways of living and eating that support my happiness, health, and still allow me to party and celebrate with friends and family. Here's how you can thrive this holiday season, and greet January 1st with a smile.

Pre-Party Tips

Holiday parties are littered with "temptation traps" and if you’re not prepared you might find yourself starving, surrounded by pumpkin pie, and energetically drained of all willpower to stave off a pudding-spree. Use these pre-party strategies so that you can enjoy going out without stressing out:

1. Don’t skip meals.

If you’re heading out to an after-work holiday party, take an extra protein-shake with you for a late afternoon pre-party meal. Add extra fiber to it so you’ll feel full and keep your gut healthy, and make it delicious and winter-appropriate with unsweetened coconut milk, and some chai spices like cinnamon.

2. Remember the 2-to-1 Rule.