3 Ways You Could Be Procrastinating & Not Even Realize It

3 Ways You Could Be Procrastinating & Not Even Realize It Hero Image

It’s time to confess: I’m an expert procrastinator. Phew, that took a long time to say. (Pun intended.)

In fact, I’ve been working on this article for the past four months. Yet, as I’m writing it I can’t help but feel guilty, because I’ve put off other important things in order to get this done, so I procrastinated yet again. I can’t help but feel as if I’m in a Catch 22 of the procrastination cycle. I finally had to admit to myself that I’ve been putting this off long enough and it was time to play catch up.

I hope this inspires you to do the same: be honest, and think about what you've been putting off and which distractions you’ve opted for instead—whether you've been avoiding a chore, an unpaid bill, or something that you truly enjoy like writing or yoga.

Procrastination is different than what it’s perceived to be and is much more complex than laziness, which is its most common misinterpretation. It's manifested as making the unimportant important. Simply put: misguided priorities becoming habit. Luckily all habits, healthy and unhealthy, including procrastination, can be unlearned and replaced with healthier ones.

The underlying reasons why we procrastinate are indeed different for everyone but they generally fall into three distinct categories:

ADVERTISEMENT

1. Feeling tired

When we aren’t getting enough sleep or down time, we're more prone to prioritizing with less clarity (if any at all). There is a tendency when you’re tired to just give it your last shot, or become so overwhelmed you’re paralyzed and can no longer prioritize. If you feel like you just can’t think, take a break, it won’t get better unless you do.

2. Feeling wired