5 Reasons To Stop Trying To Self Heal & Go To The Doctor NOW

When I read about the possible "missed" cancer diagnosis mentioned in this article, my heart sank. It made me think of at least 10 people who had similar disheartening stories.

I'm a doctor, so I may be seeing a disproportionate amount of people with stories like these. I don't mean to be alarmist or steer anyone away from self-healing or Eastern medicine. I just want you to be alert to some common warning signs that shouldn't be ignored. Maybe you can help a colleague, loved one, or even an acquaintance who shows any of the signs below.

Why shouldn't you try to use natural diet, herbs, and self care first all the time?

In one case, I vividly remember a young 19 year-old who came in with back pain and a headache. He had been dealing with it for the entire weekend but it was getting severe.

He was at the pinnacle of health, especially for a teenager: fit, healthy diet, and he was even an alternative medicine enthusiast. However, something was wrong and he could barely finish a sentence without cringing in pain. I was a resident in the ER at Beth Israel in Boston and as soon as I saw him, I worried that something was really wrong.

"Why did you wait so long to come the emergency room?" I asked.

"I was trying a few things at home to see if I could avoid going to the doctor."

Naturally, right?

But, in his case, waiting was not the right answer. Because of the severity of pain, he was sent for imaging, which showed a ascending aortic aneurysm that was ruptured (a leaking hole in the main artery of the body, which is very rare). Quickly he was rushed to the operating room to try to fix it. But it was too late.

I cannot express the sorrow I felt for him and his family that night. I couldn't focus when my night shift ended. I couldn't sleep and had a pit in my stomach. As an ER team, we discussed the painful details the next morning to the weeping family.