I never planned on writing a best-selling book. In fact, I never planned on being a writer. As a feng shui expert, my passion is to help people live happier, healthier, more inspired lives. So, in combination with feng shui consulting and teaching, I figured the best way to help a lot of people is to write a book.

Since I’m constantly asked how I came to write Feng Shui Your Life, I want to share tips that may help jump start your own writing journey. Synchronicity and luck played a big part in getting my book deal, but writing it took hard work. Along the whole way, I implemented good feng shui and the manifestation techniques from my book. If it worked for me, it can work for you too!

1. Identify your passion and recognize you are unique.

You must be passionate about your subject so you’ll have the energy and persistence to keep writing. Let’s face it: Writing isn't easy so you must have the driving force within you to complete your book. Once you're passionate, you’ll notice how many other people and authors are also passionate about the same subject. It’s OK. You Are Unique. No one has had the same life experience as you have. You will share the information in your distinct way. Try to re-frame any negative thoughts.

2. Find inspiration and do your research.

ADVERTISEMENT

Most subjects have been written about already, so it’s important to read inspiring and uninspiring books on your subject. It’s essential for your book to have a unique angle. Find your niche. In 2001, when I began writing my first book, I looked at what had been written on the subject and decided my book was going to be holistic, approach feng shui as a lifestyle, and be a beautiful interior design book as well. There was nothing like it. Like me, you can make a manifestation board for your book project and look at it every day.

3. Create a ritual, schedule and deadlines.