3 Things To Remember If You're Getting Over A Breakup

3 Things To Remember If You're Getting Over A Breakup Hero Image

Four years into my dating relationship with my husband Hemal, we were getting ready to spend the holidays together. I was expecting to get a proposal on this trip. Instead, I got dumped. Hemal told me he wasn’t going on the trip with me, and he didn’t want to be together anymore. It was devastating, to say the least.

I went over and over it in my head, wondering, "What did I do wrong? Did he ever even love me? What can I do to get him back and make him realize he actually does love me and wants to commit to me?"

I also felt used. I wondered, "If someone could fall in love with me, then fall out of love with me so easily, what did I really mean to him?" These kinds of thoughts draw more and more of our attention to places that make us feel lost and confused about how to proceed with love.

Today, as a Love Coach, I see women blaming themselves for the breakup and settling for a lot less in love. That isn’t OK with me. I've been there, done that, and there's a better way for you resolve these feelings and open back up to love.

Here are three self-conversations that are needed for you to open up to love again after a bad breakup:

ADVERTISEMENT

1. It’s hard to be friends.

I see women who want to hold on to what they had, so they settle on being friends, because being friends is better than no relationship at all. We think it will give us a chance to potentially get the man back into our life by reminding him how great we are. We also start second-guessing all of our decisions about men because it felt like our feelings and experiences were so different than what the man was felt in our last breakup.