I just passed the three-year anniversary of running my yoga business. Although I’ve been teaching since 2002, I created a brand name, Bare Bones Yoga, and an independent business structure three years ago. My business motto is “Keeping Yoga Simple,” and it’s meant to reflect my passion for making yoga, meditation, and other mindfulness techniques simple, accessible, and easy to apply.

I usually write a year-end report and instead, this year, I found my mind wandering to the lessons I’ve learned. My hope is that this may help other teachers avoid some of the pitfalls I’ve encountered over the years.

1. Keep good records.

From Day One, I’ve done a few things regularly, without fail: written a weekly report, documented revenue, maintained a business dashboard (you can read more about this here), tracked all classes, expenses and kept all receipts. The weekly reports keep me on track with my goals, the revenue tracking helps me identify trends and gaps, and helps with realistic planning. The business dashboard keeps all my leads, overall revenue, and vision action steps in one place.

ADVERTISEMENT

2. Your reputation is the result of everything you do.

Reputation used to be primarily a function of how you carried yourself in person, but now it’s also a function of how you carry yourself in every online interaction as well. This includes posts on any social media outlet, comments on posts, your reaction to comments on your articles, pictures you post (or others post of you). Your students, clients, readers and customers will be looking for consistency across all these channels to ensure that you’re authentic and your messaging is the same.

3. You can’t be the yoga teacher for everyone.