Long before I was a coach and an entrepreneur, I was in advertising. My first job in New York in 1998 straddled strategic planning and account services. And though I've learned many things in the last 15 years of my rather eclectic life, I draw on those lessons almost daily in my personal life and current work as a wellness and life coach treating symptoms of fatigue and anxiety.

It’s not shocking, considering how both jobs are focused on creating real life change.

Here are 9 nuggets of wisdom from advertising:

1. Focusing on your "one true thing" will bring more ease and success.

In advertising, the "one true thing" is the key insight or feeling that drives your consumer’s behavior. All communication flows from this. So simple, it's brilliant. I use it to organize my own life by identifying the core feeling I seek and using it as a guide for how I live and the choices I make.

ADVERTISEMENT

For example, my core has always been people and connection. As a woman and a coach, I choose relationships, clients, projects, and teams based on people and the connection. Focusing on what is most important to me simplifies life dramatically and ensures I am more satisfied and also more likely to be successful. This technique works well to calm anxiety and fatigue through simplifying life.

2. If you want to create big results, start by listening and accepting where things are right now.

When there is a problem, instead of walking in with the answer, listen, understand their situation and then respond directly to that with your objective perspective. You can’t go from 0 to 100 in a day. Good solutions are usually simple but highly relevant. As a coach, often clients want to focus on the future or be positive and ignore what’s not working. But that rarely works. It’s important to start with where you are, see, and accept it fully and then go from there.

3. Align on the objective & approach before you start work.