12 Best Practices Of Successful Traveling Yoga Teachers

For the past six years, I've been a professional traveling yoga and movement instructor. What started as a transitional job picked up on the road to offset the cost of travel and keep the journey going, quickly turned into full-time gig. At this point, I've been doing this longer than any other title on my resume.

With respect to the nature of what I do, I can say with great confidence it seems that I'm in the minority of people who do what they love and love what they do. This does not mean, however, there's no work involved… not by a long shot. Organization, planning, budgeting, promotion, marketing, travel, logistics, maintain a self-practice, training — and that's just the prelude to actually teaching.

Whether you're considering the life of a traveling yoga teacher or simply want to be more effective at organizing your efforts at home, here are some of the best practices I've found to help maximize results.

1. Have a clear and unique offering.

You're not the only teacher in the world, and it's highly likely you're not the only one doing what you do. If people don't know who you are, why should they care? Be as clear and descriptive as you can without being too wordy. Vinyasa teachers are a dime a dozen. Alignment-based ashtanga-vinyasa teachers with a background in Pilates who specialize in hands-on adjustments and structural awareness are not as common. Even as you hone in on your specialization, recognize that there are still others doing what you do. Don't be afraid to stand out. You're totally worth it.

2. Create an interesting bio with engaging workshop descriptions.

This is an extension of the previous tip. Once you know what you've got, learn to market the heck out of it. For more tips on how to do this, check out my other article on how to write a better personal bio. That should help you on both accounts.

3. Warm hearts beat cold-calling.