While on our annual summer vacation at the Jersey Shore, I ran into Karen, one of the many friends I’ve made here over the years. Karen is my mother's age, and the matriarch of a huge family: three daughters, their husbands, and tons of grandkids. 

She asked me if I'd train her and her friend, Marion, who “worked out a lot.” 

Karen and I had been on several walks together. I admired her plucky attitude about getting out there and moving on a daily basis even though she’s a bit heavier than she’d like to be and has several physical issues that make it challenging. 

I had been doing my own morning practice, so I suggested yoga on the beach

Karen’s eyes lit up! Then she sighed, “But I’ve never done yoga before. I’ve done spinning.” 

I explained that if she could spin, she could do yoga. 

Early the following morning we all met on the beach, towels and water bottles in hand. I was blown away when I laid eyes on Marion for the first time. Standing before me was a 75 year-old-woman who was ridiculously buff! (Note to self: keep working out.) I was thankful I'd spent some time preparing a sequence that I hoped would be stimulating for Marion, the exercise fanatic, as well as introducing yoga to Karen for the first time. 

While we were getting settled, I asked Marion if she had any physical issues I should know about. Lo-and-behold she had pneumonia last winter and was put on medication that had weakened her muscles and caused her joint pain. She still looked fit, but was easing back into the world of exercise after a six-month hiatus. 

Here's what I learned from teaching yoga to these two ladies: 

1. You can't plan everything. 

We began in Mountain Pose under a clear, deep blue sky. The ocean breeze kissing our skin, the sun warming our backs, and the sound of the waves crashing into the shore eased us into a deep, connected moment. We held the pose longer than I planned, but that is what we were meant to do.

2. Don’t be afraid to let the moment guide you.