10 Questions To Ask Yourself If You Want To Leave Your Job

10 Questions To Ask Yourself If You Want To Leave Your Job Hero Image

Everyone desires a meaningful and fulfilling professional life. When you're happy with your work, you feel more content, purposeful, and complete. When you're unhappy at work, the days seem long, Mondays are dreaded, and stress and negativity can affect all areas of your life. 

As an executive coach, I've worked with many clients to help them find more fulfillment in their work. This process has different parameters for each person: it could involve negotiating change in a current role, leaving a job, changing careers, or even making massive life changes toward an entirely new way of living and working. Many people aren’t sure what they what they want to change, but are motivated to figure it out so that they're happier in their work. Whatever the initial motivation, the first step I take with all my clients is a simple and effective self-exploration process, which includes the following questions:

1. Why am I unhappy in this job?

Understand where your unhappiness comes from — is it specific to the type of work you do, who you work for, or the industry you work in? Understanding your unhappiness is the starting point for making change.

ADVERTISEMENT

2. Do I need a job change, or a life change? 

Ask yourself: Is my unhappiness about my job, or life in general? Unhappiness in one part of life can have a cascading effect on the rest of what we do. Before taking action, make sure your focus is to resolve the primary cause of your discontent. 

3. If you could have anything quickly, easily and now, what would that look like?