10 Unexpected Places Gluten Lurks

Functional Medicine Doctor By Amy Myers, M.D.
Functional Medicine Doctor
Amy Myers, M.D. is a renowned leader in functional medicine living in Austin, Texas. She is a New York Times best-selling author of both The Autoimmune Solution and The Thyroid Connection, and received her doctorate in medicine from the LSU Health Sciences Center.

Whether you're a gluten-free God or Goddess, or are new to the scene, it can be a tough and confusing world out there. I personally have been fooled a time or two. I hope the list below will help to arm you with the right resources to stay healthy, happy and gluten free.

Body and beauty products

Lipstick, toothpaste, body lotion, shampoo, soap, conditioner, baby powder and sunscreen can all contain gluten.

Article continues below

Medications, supplements and herbal formulas

Many of these have fillers like dextrin, which can come from corn or wheat. There are several websites, such as this one, that list gluten-free medications. All supplements that we have on my online store are gluten-free.

Play-Doh and paints

Play-Doh is made from wheat flour, salt and water, and many paints also have wheat-derived ingredients.

Article continues below

Sauces and condiments

Ketchup, mayonnaise, mustard, tomato sauce, gravy and salad dressings can all contain gluten.

Scrambled eggs

Some restaurants add pancake batter to make eggs, or buy packaged egg products that already contain batter in order to make the eggs fluffier. The waiter, or even chef, may be unaware they're using a product that contains wheat or gluten, so make sure to ask questions!

Article continues below

Stamps and envelopes

The adhesive that makes stamps and envelopes stick can come from gluten.

Luncheon meats, crab and vegan meat substitutes

Wheat can be used a filler in luncheon meats, and of course most beef jerky contains soy sauce. The "crab meat" used in many sushi rolls, like California rolls, is imitation crabmeat and contains wheat as a stabilizer. Many vegan "meats" and veggie burgers are either made from wheat or contain one of the troublesome 20 ingredients.

Article continues below

Related Class

Food Fundamentals
Food Fundamentals


Beer contains gluten, of course, but distilled liquors such as vodka can also be made from wheat. Depending on your sensitivity, you may need to steer clear of these. Stick to tequila, or potato and corn vodkas.

Mashed potatoes

Flour is sometimes added to thicken mashed potatoes.

Article continues below


You must read the ingredients! Licorice and many other solid candies are made from wheat flour.

Want more information? Check out my eBook The Myers Way: Guide To Gluten-free Living

Ready to learn more about how to unlock the power of food to heal your body, prevent disease & achieve optimal health? Register now for our FREE web class with nutrition expert Kelly LeVeque.

More On This Topic

Food Fundamentals
More Food

Popular Stories

Latest Articles

Latest Articles

Sites We Love

Your article and new folder have been saved!