7 Tips To Make & Eat Simple, Delicious Meals

I’ve been cooking since I was about 10 years old — maybe younger. It’s second nature to me: simple, instinctual. I like to get fancy, but it’s totally not necessary for everyday grub. Not every meal has to be an Iron Chef competition. Cooking should be simple, relaxing and nourishing for your body and mind.

Cooking is a primal instinct; we all have the basic human need to fuel our bodies properly. With shiny food advertisements and Big Pharma drugs flying around every day, it’s hard to remember our basic needs. If we feed ourselves well, we don’t have to resort to pills and potions to mask our health issues.

So what’s the blockage that so many people have around cooking? They think it’s complicated, or incredibly time consuming. It’s not, and I’m here to lift the veil.

Simple home cooking has the ability to completely turn your health around. The only thing you need is yourself and some simple ingredients and tools. So let’s break this down:

1. Shop seasonally. 

Produce that’s in season simply tastes better. You don’t need to mess around with it much to get a fantastic meal. Visit your local farmers' market for seasonal picks, and don’t overcook these gems or drown them in seasoning.

2. Learn to make food taste good.

Some health professionals might tell you that boiling or steaming food are your only options. Guess what? Lightly sautéing fresh food in organic extra virgin olive oil tastes way better, and will not suck the nutrients out. Breathe and sauté.

3. Don’t be afraid of salt.

Real salt. Pure sea salt. The good stuff contains 84 trace elements, minerals and nutrients that our bodies require. Many of my clients have found that sea salt aids adrenal fatigue, digestion and immunity. The best part? It tastes really good.

4. Get some good-quality tools.