9 Less-Celebrated But Still Wonderful Benefits Of Yoga
Alleviate back problems? Check.  

Release anxiety? Yep.  

Rebuild strength after cancer? Been there, done that.

Yoga's benefits have been increasingly recognized by the medical community, and more insurance companies now cover yoga classes... But what about yoga's not-so-mainstream benefits, the ones that creep off our mat and into our heart? Not as measurable but just as profound, these benefits are the ones that many yoga teachers celebrate. Sometimes the best benefits of a regular practice are the ones we weren’t even looking for. 

Here are a few of my personal favorites:

1. Yoga enhances creativity. 

Before I was a writer, I practiced yoga. I can't tell you the day that I realized unrolling my yoga mat improved my clarity and focus, but at some point I did understand that a dose of yogic head-clearing opened up some great space in my brain for creative expression. It didn’t have to be an article I was writing or even an art project per se, but the inspiration I felt while centered sometimes translated into making a mundane task a little more interesting. Artists who practice will tell you that there is a definite similarity between expression in a pose and expression with an art medium. 

2. Yoga cultivates intuition. 

This in with the body awareness that a yoga practitioner develops. We also learn to listen to and trust our gut. I tune in pretty quickly to that voice in my head, or that feeling in my stomach which asks me to step back and re-think. 

3. It's instantaneous (and free) therapy. 

Yoga's so much cheaper than traditional therapy. All of those cues you hear from your teacher, relax your jaw, ease the tension from your shoulders, breath from your diaphragm, become ingrained in our brain and serve us as we move more mindfully even in moments of stress. 

4. Yoga relieves Type A tendencies.