10 Insights to Power Through Your Quarter-Life Crisis

The Quarter Life Crisis: A phase in your journey when you feel like you’re in life’s existential limbo. When you know what you don’t want, you sort of know what you do want, but you aren’t quite sure how to get there... and you’re trying to race out of being right where you are.

It’s when the question that frequents your mind the most is, “If I don’t know where I’m going, how will I get there?” It certainly seems like it’s most prevalent in our 20s, maybe because this is when we’re facing the real world with no sunglasses on for the first time. But, I notice a lot of people at various other ages who struggle with this imbalance when they feel stuck. I’m no professional, but I do believe that to make any real progress, you have to invert, settle down and be your own guru. With that, here’s what I’ve been learning to make the journey less of a challenge and more of a ride:

1. Face fear. As soon as we start identifying the source and understanding the cause (i.e. the root), we are able to know ourselves the best, take the hit and let it marinate.

2. Slow down. Until recently, I filled my heart, brain and schedule with anything and everything so that I wouldn’t be alone with myself for enough time to confront all my anxiety. But, we can’t hide from the darkness forever. It catches up to us, and eventually we break down. That breakthrough is the start of a whole new world though; because it’s fear passing through. And when that happens, it releases itself and we become freer to move forward with far less weight.