10 Ways to Consciously Spend Money
Money can be a really prickly subject to talk and write about. Especially when it's coming from a meditation teacher. People are often baffled when I tell them I am a meditation teacher and also a broker in finance. Some find it amusing while others are actually repulsed at the idea. They see it is a contradiction or lack of respect for my spiritual practice, and suggest even that the two can't go together and that its hypocritcal to be doing both. 

I mean isn't it a contradiction? Money and spirituality?

We all have a strange relationship with money. Very few of us truly ever feel like we have enough. Whether you're wealthy or not, most of us feel that we just haven't got enough right now or for the future. Sure there are exceptions to this, however as a general rule a large portion of the world's population would deep down like to have just a little bit more for comforts sake.

Yet to discuss this is a very uncomfortable issue. Through the research I have done it doesn't even seem to matter what religious or cultural heritage one has, the same dogma applies. Talking about money or the atttraction of it is uncomfortable for alot of peole. 

How often were we told "money is the root of all evil"?  This saying is actually a misquotation from the Bible, Timothy 6:10: "For the love of money is the root of all evil". And so now 2,000 years later after some very good publicity, we have a programming that suggests we should be turning our back on money as it's evil.