10 Tips for Teaching Yoga Private Lessons

As a new yoga student I took a private session from one of the senior teachers at my local studio. She was an excellent teacher; one that I admired greatly. I arrived at her home and she had a room set up for practice. The care with which she prepared the room showed. It was clean, free of clutter and had a mat and props set up, ready for me to use. Our sessions were customized to meet my needs and along with yoga, she also shared information about ayurvedic medicine, meditation and helpful yoga props to use.  

I’ve grown to love teaching privates. They are a big part of what I offer and give me a way to work individually with many people, including those that are tentative about trying yoga, beginners and some that are managing a medical or some other physical challenge and are looking for a highly customized sequence. 

If you’re looking to start teaching privates, here are some things to keep in mind: 

1. Decide where you will provide private lessons. Some studios will let you rent space for a small fee. If you have a space in your home, make sure it’s free of clutter, is clean and has enough space for both the student and yourself, as you move around them on the mat.

2. Invest in quality mats and props. Even though most students will come prepared with a mat, they most likely will not have a block, blanket or strap. Spend a little money and invest in a few good mats, 2 blankets (great for under hips in pigeon), two cork blocks (more stable than foam) and two straps.

3. Ask questions before the session to understand the student’s goals: If you make the appointment with the student in person, get an understanding of what they’d like to learn. You’ll discuss more once they arrive for their first session but it’s always helpful to get a general idea before they arrive. If you make the appointment over the phone or email, ask via that method.