5 Tips For Anyone Who Thinks They Can't Do A Triathlon
You May Also Enjoy

7 Things Healthy People Do Every Morning

My alarm is set to the song "Happy" by Pharrell Williams. It’s impossible to not smile when this song plays. This, combined with the other habits below, set the tone for a productive, happy and  Read

I often meet people who tell me they would love to do what I do—endurance sports—run a marathon, finish a triathlon, etc ... but that they "can't." 

Usually the "can't" is because of some perceived physical limitation: I'm just not a runner. I get really tired after, like, ten minutes, or My knees hurt when I run

Most of the aforementioned limitations are, to me, simply "normal" experiences in the painful process of getting in shape—things that must be worked through in order to do this thing that I do.

So here are my top tips for getting started in endurance sports:

1. Start really small. 

I remember when I started training for my first marathon, jogging for 30 minutes would nearly kill me. But I made myself do it every day until 30 minutes was an "easy jog" and then running 10 miles or more became the tough stuff.

2. Make it a habit. 

The more consecutive days, then weeks, then months that you can get yourself out the door and be active, the easier it becomes to do so. Don't be surprised if you find yourself unable to go without it after a while!

3. Be accountable. 

To get you through those first weeks and months, find a training partner/friend whom you can arrange to meet for your workouts. Accountability is huge—and having friends will make the whole process more fun! If all else fails, PAY someone: hire a coach or trainer for accountability at the very least.

4. Set simple goals.