10 Tricks To Save You Time In The Kitchen
You May Also Enjoy

The New French Revolution: Ethical Parisian Chefs Serving Amazing Vegetables

Confession: I am an amateur foodie only. I drive less than five miles from my home to Bacco Ristorante where Chef Luciano Del Signore prepares a world class three-course vegan menu sourced from local  Read

You're really busy. So am I. That said, we don't have time to slave away and waste the day in the kitchen. Here's are my favorite ways to shave off some precious time and get out of the kitchen.

1. Get rid of all those gadgets. You only need a good knife, a cutting board, and a high quality blender (think Vitamix). Most other tools take up space, take up too much time to clean, and are expensive and unnecessary.

2. Prep produce before you put it away after grocery shopping. First of all, dirty produce has no place in your clean fridge. Second, you don't want to deal with cleaning produce several times a day. Take 30 minutes after grocery shopping to wash and scrub your produce. You'll thank yourself later.

3. Set a timer for your rice, beans, and things that take more than 30 minutes. This way you can finish your other tasks without waiting around on food you're cooking.

4. Never mince garlic. Smash it with your knife, and move on. 

5. Pick one day a week and make big batches. I typically prepare a grain, a protein (such as bean or lentils), maybe some hummus or almond butter, and a nut milk, along with my prepped produce. Mid-week, take 30 minutes to re-evaluate and fill in any gaps. For example, make more almond milk, cut more veggies for snacks, and make a new quick grain (think quinoa) to get you through the rest of the week.

6. Cook once, eat twice. Get in the habit of making big batches when you do cook, so that you only have to actually cook a time or two each week.

7. Make breakfast and lunch the night before. And make at least two at a time. Who wants to be doing that same chore again in 12 hours?